Book 35 ‘How Institutions think’ Mary Douglas

Current Count:( 34)Books

About 144 pp so shouldn’t take too long.
This is my first Anthropology Text. I must get Currithers Text in order to remedy deficit’Why do people have culture?’. Anthropology has gripped me since I attended a Public Lecture at LSE where Graeber was doing the honours ( I hope he has a brilliant post somewhere Research led to showcase his considerable Talents and continue to publish prolifically as before); my what an introduction! I have since watched BBC4 Documentaries on Anthropologists who include Malinowski (LSE), Mead?, Castoradis (poor man full of scandal the terrifying consequences of a Thesis) and others. I am still woefully ignorant having decided jumping in at the deep end is the best strategy. Kate Fox is another I am aware of.
I have no idea how Anthropology differs from Sociology let alone Political Science the latter I read at Essex 17 years ago.
All I know is I am glad there are xxxxxxxxxxxxxx and that I can follow it up in scholastic terms in time-honoured me style which is cheeky brash unashamed and totally academic.

PARTIAL READ

The Picture on the front is very depressing. Anthropology looks worth looking in Goldsmiths, LSE locations. I love the whole Institutional Global systemic? way in which Mary Dougas may address issues.

212 Word Cont

This entry was posted in 2000 Book Reading Programme, 2007 One Hundred Book Programme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

